Training

If you wish to become an IRS-certified tax preparer at the Basic or Advanced level, you have the options of attending our free training sessions or self-certifying online through the IRS. Our training is divided into parts: 

Part A – Intake/Interview and Quality Review

Part B – Basic tax law

Part C – Affordable Care Act

Part D – TaxSlayer

(Part E – Advanced certification topics)

CASH Coach training and Greeter/Screener training will also be provided. Download self-study notes for Volunteer Standards of Conduct and Intake/Interview/Quality Review exams.

 

All events will be held at:

United Way of Greater Richmond & Petersburg
2001 Maywill Street, Suite 201
Richmond, VA 23230

 

Many events have “quotas,” meaning we can only accommodate a set amount of people. Email the Volunteer Coordinator at dejoyg@yourunitedway.org to reserve your space in any of these events.

 

2016 – 2017 TRAINING SCHEDULE

 

Tuesday, 11/8/16

9 AM – 10:30 AM TaxSlayer Open Lab (practice opportunity for returning volunteers). Quota: 24

6 PM – 8 PM CASH Coach training (required for all CASH Coaches). Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 11/12/16

11 AM – 1 PM Greeter/Screener training (optional for Greeter/Screeners, but encouraged). No quota.

 

Tuesday, 11/15/16

6 PM – 8 PM CASH Coach training. Quota: 24

 

Wednesday, 11/16/16

6 PM – 7 PM November metroCASH Volunteer Meet & Greet!

 

Saturday, 11/19/16

11 AM – 1 PM Greeter/Screener training. No quota.

 

Tuesday, 11/29/16

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part A. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 12/3/16

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts A & B. Quota: 24

 

Tuesday, 12/6/16

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part B. Quota: 24

 

Wednesday, 12/7/16

5:30 PM – 7:30 PM Greeter/Screener training. No quota.

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part C. Quota: 24

 

Thursday, 12/8/16

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part D. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 12/10/16

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts A & B. Quota: 24

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts C & D. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 12/17/16

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts A & B. Quota: 24

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts C & D. Quota: 24

9 AM – 12 PM Advanced certification training (Part E). Quota: 24

 

Tuesday, 1/3/17

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part A. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 1/7/17

11 AM – 1 PM Greeter/Screener training. No quota.

 

Tuesday, 1/10/17

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part B. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 1/14/17

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts A & B. Quota: 24

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts C & D. Quota: 24

 

Tuesday, 1/17/17

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part C. Quota: 24

 

Wednesday, 1/18/17

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part E. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 1/21/17

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts A & B. Quota: 24

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts C & D. Quota: 24

 

Tuesday, 1/24/17

5:30 PM – 8:30 PM Certification training Part D. Quota: 24

 

Saturday, 1/28/17

9 AM – 12 PM, 1 PM – 4 PM Certification training Parts C & D. Quota: 24